12athon Mayan Ultra Challenge

So as I’ve mentioned before, I’m taking part in Stet That Run’s 12athon Challenge where you run 12 miles on the 12th of every month in 2012.
I’m actually not that advanced of a runner YET so luckily there is a Junior Varsity (JV) team for us newbies. JV members are required to run a minimum of 6 miles for that day.
Are you wondering what the whole point of this is? Well, apart from all the cool prizes you’ll be eligible to win, you also get to take part in a free, virtual experience with all the other 12athon runners. What a great & supportive group they are!

Now, here’s the really fun part! There are various Bonus Challenges for chances to garner extra points! When I say “Bonus” what I really mean is “incredibly silly/borderline crazy” challenges.

For the month of January, I decided to do the (now retired) Mayan Ultra Challenge. Which for me, meant running .5 mile more every day for 12 days straight. (1 mile for the Varsity Team)
I have to tip my hat to the Varsity Team, they have covered 78 miles in that same time. I’m blown away by their efforts! What Rock Stars!

Here’s my breakdown of my personal Mayan Ultra (I like saying that hehe)

Day 1 – .5 mile
I hadn’t run since the Friday before Christmas so this was just the start of shaking out the cobwebs. Legs feeling very stiff!

Day 2 – 1 mile
Today, I felt a bit better, still stiff. I did feel a bit silly just heading out for 1 mile. I wanted to go further, but I know there’s tough days coming so I have to enjoy the easy days.

Day 3 – 1.5 miles
Ah yes, tell me what kind of Lazy, good for nothing, irresponsible pet owner just lets their dog out in the not fenced in front yard to do their business. Did I mention there was no fence? Which means this rather large dog was rather excited to give me a little bit of a chase. Speedwork?

Day 4 – 2 miles

Things are starting to feel a bit better in my legs. I’m enjoying this!

Day 5 – 2.5 miles

I “ran” an errand to the post office today. It was almost exactly 2.5 miles round trip. Love the 2 birds with 1 stone thing I had going here. Bonus were there gorgeous horses all down one block that I took the worse possible picture of.

Day 6 – 3 miles
Oooh today I had no energy. I spent my entire 3 miles trying to figure out why I was so very sluggish. The only thing I could think of was the lack of carbs for dinner the night before.

Day 7 – 3.5 miles
I volunteer at a food distribution center on the 1st Saturday of every month so I was up quite a few hours before dawn, we got the truck unloaded, set everything up, then was busy, busy, busy for a few hours. My legs are definitely not happy with me, but if it weren’t for this challenge I would never have gone out this afternoon. I’m so happy that I did! I went a bit slower than usual, but today I finally started feeling like my old self out there. *Happy*

Day 8 – 4 miles
I’m going as slow as I can now. My knees are aching so I’m dedicated to taking it easy! Today I’m pampering my knees; icing, rubbing, wrapping. They will thank me. I’m a bit attached to them.

Day 9 – 4.5 miles (walking)
Are we there yet? Lol. I walked it in today; the old knees really needed a break! In order not to feel like a cheater, I walked faster than I ever have before lol. Dare I even say: power walked!

Day 10 – 5 miles
My run today felt good. Every mile except my last was possibly my slowest yet, then the last was possibly my fastest yet. I did not plan that, just felt like I was in a zone lol on mile 5. I’m trying to go as slow as possible. I had so much fun this morning!
I’m still trying to figure out how I had a 4 minute difference between the slowest and fastest splits.

Day 11 – 5.5 miles (walking)
Ok today I walked my MU with a friend and we completed a few errands; library (where I picked up 6 books to carry around the rest of the way), bank, pharmacy, coffee.

Day 12 – 6 miles
Tomorrow!
I’m planning on combining a few of the bonus challenges tomorrow. We’ll see which ones make the cut.

I can’t wait to see what 2012 has in store for my running! I’m so excited to have such a fun challenge to keep me motivated.

This entry was posted in Live, Run and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 12athon Mayan Ultra Challenge

  1. Love the blog! Run, Drink, Live!

Leave a Reply

