I am such a slug!

It’s the 12th of the month!
Do you know what that means? Why it’s time for the Stet that Run’s Virtual 12athon silly. What? Did you think I already did that last month? I’m going to level with you… today, I wish I already had it over and done with lol.
Remember what occurred last month on the 12th? This graceful swan took a tumble.  I am laughing while I type this because if any of you know me in person, you know that the last word that would ever describe me is graceful.  I am a world class klutz! I trip over my own feet perhaps on a daily basis, I have tumbled down a desert hill resulting in jumping cholla cactus in my hand and butt (tweezers were required to remove same) and I have even fallen out of a parked car.  I wear my clumsy shame as a badge! I’m not graceful so I will be damned good at being the best klutz out there. At least this is what I tell myself, but I really need help!  Stand clear folks or you may take a tumble with me.
The fact is, I haven’t been on a run since last month. That makes it exactly one month since I have enjoyed what I like to call “Me time and no one better try to get in the way of that time.” I may have been a bit cranky these past few weeks…
Actually, though the fall was pretty bad and I did need a few weeks to heal, I am actually taking the opportunity to rest a different pain. I have been dealing with plantar fasciitis since last year. It has been nagging for quite some time, but it has started to get a bit worse recently.  This month off has been good for it. I am still experiencing discomfort, but the majority of pain has definitely eased up. I definitely want to explore this some more since I have been either completely barefoot or wearing cheap, thin flip flops when shoes have been necessary.  I think I am wearing “too much” running shoe.

As for this 6 mile “run;” I have definitely had better. Of course, I didn’t expect it to be a walk in the park after no being out for 4 weeks, but it was a little brutal.  I realized right from the beginning that this wasn’t going to be a run. So, I used the Galloway podcast that I downloaded for the very 1st 12athong run in January and ran/walked the 3:1 ratio. It helped me finish. It wasn’t until I was almost done that I realized that the point system for the Bonus Challenges reset and I would be able to claim a few extra points. That made finishing a bit easier with a smile on my face. Way to cheat the system lol.
I did labor through this workout, but I have to say it felt so good to be back out there again. I saw the usual faces that I pass and say/wave hello to every morning and there were a few new ones; always a plus!  I worked up a sweat and maybe even picked up some well needed endorphins along the way.
All in all, I am once again grateful to this challenge for getting me out the door and back at it.

I will be taking it easier with shorter run as I get back in the swing of things, but it feels amazing to Be Back!

This entry was posted in Live, Run and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

