Who else hates to shave? Emjoi Divine Epilator product review.

I am a pretty hairy gal. I am willing to bet that I am not the only one out there.

When I was offered a chance to review the Emjoi Divine Cordless Epilator by For The Love of The Run, I jumped at the opportunity.  You see, I hate to shave; whether we are talking legs, arm pits, or my ahem nether regions… let’s be PC and call it my ‘bikini area’ though I don’t wear bikinis and I may or may not I prefer a more Brazilian look. I’ll never tell.

Image

If you’re wondering what an epilator is/does, it’s an electrical device used to remove hair by mechanically grasping multiple hairs simultaneously and pulling them out. Think tweezer amplified.

I live in the hot, arid desert of Arizona and I have a strict ‘No Pants’ policy for about 10 months out of the year. This means I spend my life in dresses, skirts, and running shorts. I believe in ‘natural air conditioning’ and like the wind (read: hot air) on my skin. This also means it will be a societal faux par to run around like Sasquatch all the time. Though, if I didn’t think I would be shunned or that it would add to my body heat I might be tempted to try it. So in order to avoid the villagers from chasing me through the street with pitchforks and torches, I keep a nice supply of razors in stock and use them regularly.

However, this process is a royal pain in my butt! Not only am I lazy and hate shaving everyday, I am also as blind as they come. I actually have worn my glasses in the tub/shower so that I can see the number I am doing on my legs as I wield that sharp little blade. I do occasionally remove my glasses when they get all steamed up and that is more like playing Russian Roulette with my veins.I am a daredevil! I live for danger and adventure, but I would prefer to do so outside of my tub rather than in it.

I have tried all those depilatory creams that claim to be for sensitive skin I just always end up with the applied area completely burned/scabbed over. I learned after the first time to try that ‘test area” that they are so fond of talking about. No luck with those. I have used those nifty little electric shavers created just for women. Ha! What a joke those have been! I would have returned them all if I thought it was appropriate to return something that may have some of my leg hair still stuck in it. Wet/Dry use my foot! They have never removed most of my hair. So, when Tina from For The Love of the Run gave me the opportunity to try the Emjoi product free of charge, I was like “YES! YES! YES! PLEASE!”

I have to say from the beginning, my experience with this company and product has been impressive! I received the product very speedily from UPS on the day they told me to expect it. It was in a very cute little package and when I opened it up. I was surprised to see everything in the box. This was more than just a mere epilator! Here’s what is in the package:

  • The Base/Handle. Great shape and comfortable to hold. This is the main part and it has 2 speeds for all your hair removing needs
  • The Epilator Head/Attachment: 36 tweezer discs remove more hair in less time with less pain
  • The Shaver Head/Attachment. Yes, a separate shaver for when you don’t wish to epilate. (I have never used that word in a sentence before… epilate…)
  • Exfoliation Head/Attachment. Who doesn’t like smooth skin?
  • 6 exfoliation cartridges; 3 for face, 3 for body
  • A cleaning brush
  • A very spiffy drawstring storage bag

Great little “extras” that I didn’t expect.

The reason I am so excited about this product is because with the epilator, I don’t have to shave on a regular basis. *See previous spiel about hating to shave. When I first opened the box it was pretty late at night and I was ready for bed so I just removed the device and plugged it in to charge. Now, don’t get me wrong, you can use it attached to the cord, but I prefer to use a cordless product in case of a power surge I don’t wish to be electrocuted. (Arizona is known for it’s electrical storms during monsoon season which starts today FYI and I can be a little prissy when it comes to shock therapy)

I tried the Emjoi Divine the following night. I’ll admit, I was a little nervous about pain since I know if I tweeze certain areas that are not accustomed to hair being ripped out I can be a bit of a baby (*see previous prissy comment) Truthfully, the sensation was not bad at all. Definitely not painful like I expected it to be. I felt a little “pulling” of the hairs on my leg. It is definitely something I can live with and not painful for me at all. I liked that it also seemed to be smarter than I when it came to knowing when I missed an area. When I thought I was done with an area, I would pass it absent-mindedly along again and it would pick up little hairs that I couldn’t see. I love that! Ladies, how many times have we shaved only to realize we missed a spot later that day? Just me? okay.
Well, I loved using this product that first night. It was so easy! And, my leg was so smooth. Hubby gave the smooth leg a huge thumbs up. Husband approved! Though I couldn’t get him to let me try it out on his own body. Chicken!
If you notice that I keep saying “leg” not legs it’s because initially, I intended to only use it on one leg, then shave the other the next morning so that I can compare the rate of hair growth. Well, the very next morning I knew I had to shave that one leg in the shower and I grabbed this little gem and used it on the other leg. Ha Ha! What does that tell you? I love it so much that I won’t be shaving my legs again. As far as how long the effects last; well, I used it on my legs two weeks ago. I am still walking around with hairless legs. WOOHOO! Victory! Mission accomplished! I am loving it!

Now, I have tried it on other areas. I especially want it to also be an end all to shaving my armpits. Truthfully, my underarm skin is very sensitive. I have to use certain types of deodorants and moisturizers, etc to keep that area happy. I was a bit more skeptical about using it here. My fears were a bit founded as when I tried it on my underarms it was definitely a little painful. I actually only did a small area and had to take a break. BUT, here’s the thing. I will be trying again and even if I have to only do small area at a time, I will use it for this purpose as well. The reason is this: The area that it was used on is not irritated. Every single time I shave my underarms I have some level of irritation. I used it 2 nights ago and the little spot is still smooth and I am having no issues. So, I will continue to weed whack that area as well. I figure that just as the discomfort diminished with tweezing my brows all those years ago, so too will this! I am sold!
Not saying much more… apply the previous statement to my ummm… what did we agree to call it? my bikini area? Yeah, let’s go with that.

Perhaps it will even go after that caterpillar that lives above my lip. I kid. I kid. I have no mustache! or do I? Why? What have you heard?

I also tried the shaving attachment. It worked well on my other underarm area, so for those who are not willing to go through the discomfort of the epilator, it is a very viable option! I am taking preference to being hair free for weeks at a time. I do like having the option though!

All in all, I really like this product. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in trying something like this.

For me it was all positive, even the discomfort in my sensitive areas. It is packaged great and I think it would make a great gift. Just make sure that you have the intimate type of relationship that could withstand a non verbal cue that your loved one is a hairy beast!

If you have any questions about my experience with the Emjoi Divine Epilator please don’t hesitate to ask. If there is something I may have neglected to mention just let me know.

Thanks for reading and definitely head over to the Emjoi website to see their other products. I did receive this product for free, but there was no other compensation for this review. This is all my honest to goodness opinion!

And please head over to For The Love of The Run. Tina has a great, fun running blog and she does a ton of awesome giveaways. Thanks for the chance to try something like this Tina!

This entry was posted in Live, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Who else hates to shave? Emjoi Divine Epilator product review.

  1. Tina Planta says:

    Love it! Especially the nonverbal cue about being a hairy beast!!!

Leave a comment