It’s been too quiet around here lately

And I have missed writing about various things.

The truth is, I have been dealing with more injury and though not running related, I have not been able to earn my sweat via exercise for a few months now.

I suffer from sciatica from time to time and seriously hurt my back to the point where I was unable to even walk for a bit.
I am feeling much better, but I am still feeling those tell-tale “twinges” and “pulls” that is a definite warning sign not to push my luck. A definite notch in the Plus column however, is my plantar fasciitis is almost gone. It’s such an afterthought now!

I have so much to tell you guys!
I feel like popping the cork on a good full bodied red wine, gathering you close and saying “sit sit, I have stories.”

I want to share an update on my Nike Free 3.0 v4 review. Now that there are about 200 miles on this shoe, I want to let you know my latest thoughts and photos of how it has weathered my abuse.

I want to share my preliminary thoughts on my new Merrells. Yeah, I have gone a little crazy with this brand and in the course of a couple of months have already purchased 3 different pairs/models!
I am still working on fully transitioning into “barefoot” but I was definitely feeling good about where I was in the process at the time. Starting over won’t be a problem, I just really want to get back out there.

Merrell Dash Merrell Mix Master 2 Women'sMerrell Barefoot Pace Glove

Also, I have had sooo much anxiety about upcoming races! I have never competed in a single race as yet even though I have been running for almost 2 years now.  I finally decided to see what the hubbub was all about and signed up for my very 1st race; well two races actually. The Iron Girl 10 Mile in Fountain Hills Arizona and the P.F. Chang’s Rock ‘N Roll Arizona Half Marathon in January. Now, while I know I still have time to train, I am wary because I don’t know how soon I will be able to resume my training.
You see, the longest run I have ever completed was 8 miles back in the beginning of the year. All summer long I have struggled to complete the occasional 6 mile long run. I am actually more nervous about the Iron Girl 10 mile only because there’s a time limit; one that I believed wouldn’t have been a problem before, but now wondering about it in case I have to walk any of it.
This girl needs to get back to running!
Not all is bad news though!
October is one of my favorite months of the year. It starts cooling down a slight bit. Here in AZ that means it hovers around 100 degrees and that is a relief! We don’t have a “change” in the seasons in the valley like up north. I do get lucky sometimes to head to higher country to see the leaves change. I do love that!

Locally though, I have a lot of fun at two of my favorite festivals. Tempe Oktoberfest is a blast and I am usually there all 3 days since I do sometimes help pour beer or help with their Frank Kush Footrace as well. Great German Beer, lots of music & bands, and a whole lot of fun! My other favorite is New Belgium’s Tour De Fat. If there are any cycle/bike enthusiasts reading this, if the Tour de Fat is ever in your area I urge you to check it out. It’s a carnival of fun! Check out my pics from last year. The beer is also delicious and I am fond of their 1554 and their IPA.
I hope to have many pictures to share of the festivities!

Also coming soon:
My review of Instead Softcup; a little something for the ladies.
My thoughts on the Merrell Dash & Merrell Mix Master 2
My updated thoughts on the Nike Free 3.0 v4

This entry was posted in Drink, Live, Run and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

