Simple & Easy Pancake Recipe. Blueberries Optional ;-)

Who likes pancakes? I know I do!

A yummy plate of warm blueberry pancakes

A yummy plate of warm blueberry pancakes

As I whipped up a batch of pancakes for breakfast this morning, I was thinking about how much I love watching my family devour them. I thought I would share my recipe for anyone who wanted to try them out.

Before I continue, I want to say that when I am in the kitchen, I like to keep things simple. Nothing against those culinary artists who whip up masterpieces with a dizzying array of ingredients, but I am all about few ingredients and simple preps. This will be a uncomplicated recipe that can be customized to suit anyone’s needs. I usually get about ten 3-4 inch pancakes from this.

I used dried blueberries this morning.

I used dried blueberries this morning.

Basic Recipe:

  • 1 cup of flour*
  • 1 cup milk (dairy, almond, buttermilk etc. your choice)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of baking powder (*if using self rising flour there’s no need for baking powder)
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder (optional)

I also like to add a little extra something for that special oomph! Today, I used blueberries, but other favorites include cranberries, chocolate chips, peanut butter chips. Really, throw whatever you like in there lol. There are no Rules! I don’t add sugar to this batter because the added fruit or chips add a bit of sweet, as does the protein powder. Also, most things people top pancakes with are also sugar laden. If you feel the need to add sugar, I would suggest no more than 1 tablespoon. My sweet toothed family have never had complaints.

Instructions:
In a Medium/Large size mixing bowl, beat the egg (I use a fork for all purposes) then add the flour, baking powder, and protein powder. Pour in the milk on top of that and stir with a fork until everything is combined; batter should be mostly smooth. Depending on the brand of flour and/or protein powder I use, the batter may be just a bit too thick. If this is the case, just add a splash more of the milk to smooth it out enough to be poured.
Now stir in whatever extra ingredient you are adding, such as chocolate chips.
In a hot, lightly oiled/sprayed skillet or griddle, ladle/pour in batter to the desired size of pancake. I like them 3-4inches which are nice and small and easy to maneuver. Allow to cook until you see bubbles form on the surface and the edges solidify, carefully flip with a spatula and allow to cook for about a minute more.
Continue until all the batter is used.

Almost time to flip.

Waiting for the bubbles before I flip.

My family members all have their favorite toppings.
We use everything from traditional maple syrup, fruit preserves, yogurt, peanut butter. The sky is the limit really.

I purposefully don’t like to write rigid recipes because I think it makes non-cooks panic. It’s okay not to measure everything perfectly or to throw an extra “handful” of something in. Just follow your gut and experiment. If it’s not perfect the 1st time, do something different the next.

Also, in the theme of keeping things simple, I have a large measuring cup that I mix this batter in so when it’s time to cook, I just pour directly from the spout.

If you have questions or tweaks about the recipe or for clarification on anything I’ve written, just leave a comment or contact me.

Check out my Banana Cookie recipe if you’re looking for simple, easy and healthy!

Nom Nom.

This entry was posted in Live, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

