DBacks Race Against Cancer 5K

535940_10152551275120005_961763073_nThis past Saturday I got out of bed nice and early and went down to Chase Field to run the DBacks Race Against Cancer Inaugural event.

The Starting Line

The Starting Line

From what I understand, they only put this race on the calendar just about 6 weeks before the actual event. I don’t know how these things normally work, but it sure doesn’t seem like a long enough time to get it all done and organized, but I have to say, this was a wonderful and well planned event!
One that I will definitely return for next year.

The swag

The swag: tech tee & sling backback

There was a 5K run and 1K family fun run. For $40 I received a race entry for the 5K, a very lovely black tech shirt, a sling/drawstring backpack, a finisher’s medal and 1 lower level ticket to see the Diamondbacks play the Rockies in April. Not too shabby if I say so myself. I don’t think I would pay that much for a 5K otherwise, but being a baseball fan, I simply couldn’t resist.

My friend Kim & I

My friend Kim & I

The girls at the starting line. Kristina, Mary & I

The girls at the starting line. Kristina, Mary & I

At the starting line

At the starting line

Ready to Goooo!

Ready to Goooo!

I would say a bit over 1,000 people ran the 5k that morning; so definitely a nice small race. We ran with a few of the players. One bonus for me was having retired Diamondback Luis Gonzalez cross the finish line about 16 seconds ahead of me. Though I have to admit, I was so focused on the finish line I didn’t see him until afterward when my friends waiting at the finish line pointed him out. They are so funny! As I neared the finish, I spotted my 2 faster girlfriends eagerly awaiting me. I could actually tell by the look on their faces that they were looking on expectantly so I tried to wave at them expecting them to scream my name and cheer me in. (Yes! Of course I have an ego!) They didn’t see me and there was no one chanting my name to let me know how wonderful I am.
So, I collected my medal and was pleasantly surprised to be greeted by another runner friend. I love who you bump into unexpectedly at these things! Then off I went to where my girls were standing (still very much looking for me to cross the finish) and snuck up behind them and asked “Has she crossed yet?” They both turned and started screaming in unison! LOL. They started talking at once asking where I was and when did I cross? When I told them I had just gotten there, that’s when they told me Gonzo himself had just crossed and I must have come in with him. So, apparently they were blinded by the pro athlete! HAHAHA. Star F*ckers! (I joke I joke)

With our Medals afterward

With our Medals afterward

In it for the Bling

In it for the Bling

Then, I went off to find my husband; who is not one for crowds and tends to stay back a bit from the chaos. Post-race nutrition included the usual fare: bananas, oranges, apples, grapes and water. Also, Kind was there handing out a choice of nutrition bar or granola.

Medal Close-up

Home plate medal Close-up

There was no time clock that I saw, but results were printed and posted immediately on a board. The crowd trying to find their times took a bit of patience, but it was nice not to have to wait until they were posted online.

Hey, I never said I was fast!

Hey, I never said I was fast!

DBacks Fan Fest

DBacks Fan Fest

This race took place on the same day as DBacks Fan Fest so all runners were allowed early access to Fan Fest 1 hour before the general public.

With the Hubby at Fan fest. They opened the roof and it was FREEZING & windy (for AZ)

With the Hubby at Fan fest. They opened the roof and it was FREEZING & windy (for AZ)

382330_10152551273715005_1679900958_nIt was a nice end to the race day festivities.
I wore my Randy Johnson baseball hat and so when I saw the Legend “Bobble Head” Randy Johnson I ran over and said to him “I’m wearing your hat, you have to take a picture with me!”

With Legend* Randy Johnson

With Legend* Randy Johnson

I also, got one with the Matt Williams Legend.

Legend* Matt Williams

Legend* Matt Williams

*See what I mean when I say “Legends”

I have discovered that one thing I seem to crave after a run is a Guinness Draught.

This entry was posted in Live, Run and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

